Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.




  • To inspire and challenge our children, through a safe and happy learning environment, to achieve excellent standards in computing including all aspects of the National Curriculum objectives for computing and e-safety.
  • To engage our children through relevant and purposeful learning, so that they are equipped with skills and knowledge of how to use technology responsibly and safely
  • To inspire a passion for learning in our children and build confidence to create programs, systems and a range of content.
  • For pupils to be equipped with knowledge and understanding of the principles of information and computation, how digital systems work and how to put this knowledge to use through programming
  • To ensure that our children, regardless of background or circumstance, have equal opportunities to use a range of current technological devices and are clear on how to keep themselves safe online.
  • To support our children, through nurturing relationships, so they feel safe and comfortable to seek help and advice when it is needed.
  • To enable our children to articulate their learning confidently and to remember
  • To equip children with the foundational skills, knowledge and understanding of computing they will need for the rest of their lives inspiring further learning in computing and e-safety in secondary school and beyond.


  • In EYFS, children have access to a range of technological toys through their provision. We use iPads to support reading, phonics and maths as well as teach children about the importance of keeping themselves safe when using electronic equipment and the internet.
  • To ensure high standards of teaching and learning in computing, we implement a curriculum that is progressive throughout the whole school. Our implementation of the computing curriculum is in line with 2014 Primary National Curriculum requirements for KS1 and KS2 and the Foundation Stage Curriculum in England. This provides a broad framework and outlines the knowledge and skills taught in each key stage.
  • Computing teaching will deliver these requirements through our half-termly units. Our Computing progression model is broken down into three strands that make up the computing curriculum. These are Computer Science, Information Technology and Digital Literacy. Computer Science underlines the knowledge and skills relating to programming, coding, algorithms and computational thinking. Information Technology underlines the knowledge and skills relating to communication, multimedia and data representation and handling. Digital Literacy underlines the knowledge and skills relating to online safety and technology uses all of which are covered whether combined or discreetly.
  • We use and follow the Purple Mash scheme of work from Year 1-6, ensuring consistency and progression throughout the school.
  • We teach children the skills to stay safe online using advised guidance and through nurture and relationships, mutual respect and trust. This is done through our weekly Staying Safe sessions, RSE lessons and through raising awareness using days such as Safer Internet Day.
  • We ensure that staff and volunteers are trained and confident in online safety, identifying and responding to any concerns
  • The Computing curriculum is ambitious for children with SEND and those who are disadvantaged. Teachers identify gaps in prior knowledge and fill these by ensuring there are opportunities to revisit previously taught knowledge and skills or use resources to support their understanding.  



  • Pupils will have a deep understanding of the importance of staying safe online and know what to do if they have any concerns.
  • Pupils can access and follow an ambitious curriculum that has our vision for exceptionally high expectations as a driver.


Progression of Skill Standard Interactive February 22.pdf


Progression Steps.pdf


Online Safety Progression in the Scheme of Work.pdf